This article was contributed to The Huffington Post on Feb 27. You can read it on the site here.

Imagine a world where we each wake up every morning with a burst of energy and joy to begin our day.

A world where we count down the minutes to begin our work day, rather than to end it.

Where we look forward to our job, not just for the $$ on our paycheck at the end of the month, but because we genuinely care about serving our customers and making their lives happier and/or easier.

Where our job is rewarding in more ways than one and where we have the freedom and flexibility to live our dreams and passions out loud, without fear of failure or disappointment.

If this is your life already, yay for you. But if it’s not and you are yearning for more, ask yourself why haven’t you taken that step?

Is it because of time, or obligation, or money? What is the real reason you are not living your dream?

marcus-dall-col-1241.jpg
photo credit – http://www.unsplash.com

Does This Sound Like You?

Many years ago, I did not even know what my dream was. I was just going through the motions from one day and one year to the next with a vague idea in my head, without any real direction or focus.

After my eldest sister encouraged me to enroll into a degree programme, my life improved greatly, as did the quality of my jobs. But after a few years of ‘highs’, then came the lows.

Despite making enough money to not just only get by, but also live the lifestyle I wanted, I still wasn’t completely happy! Many couldn’t understand why, but I knew the answer deep within my heart and soul.

It was because I wasn’t using all of my innate gifts to serve others. I tried to improvise within my existing career, but it just wasn’t enough.

I wanted more.

Don’t get me wrong. I was very grateful for my job. It was a great privilege and learning opportunity that I don’t regret. But I knew it was time to move on because I had plateaued in my position in that field. It was no longer fun or exciting.

The problem was that the longer I stayed in a career that didn’t make my heart sing, is the more difficult it became to transition out of it and the more unhappy I became.

IMG_5595_AB.jpg
The launch of my first production: ‘Book Talk & Jazz’ – April 2nd 2016
The Chancellor Hotel, Trinidad

How the Dream Was Won

After many failed attempts, I finally got my breakthrough one day and it literally changed my life, in more ways than one.

My move to another territory and career put me on the path to meet other people and fulfill more of my potential that steered me towards the path to entrepreneurship.

Flashforward to 5 years later, I am now living my dream and making more people happy doing what I truly love. It’s why I am still up at 3 am without fatigue.

My reason for telling you this personal story, is to demonstrate that sometimes we are so caught up in our fast paced world of routine and ‘comfort’, that we get brainwashed into thinking that this is all there is to life.

That we have no choice but to settle for mediocre, just because of what society or those close to us think we should do with our lives.  

But there is more.

What you can do to change your life

I am not the only one. Countless others like me have found that sweet spot that I spoke of at the start of this article. It doesn’t have to be quitting your job and moving to another place or even starting your own business.

It could simply mean transitioning fields or changing things up in your existing career and redesigning your life. Shifting your perspective in terms of what you really want out of life and defining it clearly in your mind and on paper.

And instead of giving less (or more of the same) and expecting more, try giving more for the right reasons (from the heart/to truly serve) without expectations. In this way, you will receive abundance in all the ways that count.

From the moment I realized this. Boom. I got a new job in a new place and the floodgates opened to more possibilities further afield.

Yeah sure, there were pitfalls along the way, as with everything else in life, but awareness is the first step to transcending your limitations and truly achieving all your hearts desires, regardless of what anyone has to say.

 

What to expect when your life changes

Sometimes a major life decision, may involve taking a risk and making big sacrifices, but with a winning mindset and a great network of truly supportive people, the sky is the limit to your realizing your fullest potential.

The sacrifices will only be for a relatively short time and it is small price to pay for complete and true freedom and happiness.

Of course planning is key: on the personal side both financially and on the business front – marketing, logistically, strategically mapping out your goals and values and itemizing how you are going to achieve each step.

But believe me, once you have identified your purpose and you are living it passionately each day, you will be amazed at how your very passion and heart can rally the support of friends and strangers alike to bring your dreams to fruition.

My Gift to You…

Don’t let limiting mindsets about “not good enoughness” or money stand in your way. Believe with your whole heart, ask for what you want and step back and watch the stars align in your favour.

Remember, you are what you think and you have the power to create the life of your dreams. But hey! Now that you know what you want, it’s time to stop dreaming and start living!

I have a free motivational quote book just for you to inspire you along your journey.

For more motivation and personal stories, you can check out my other books on Amazon below.

Carolyn K. Correia is the author of Thinking out LoudHow To Find Yourself and Claim What’s Yours and she missed the boat on love. She is also a communications consultant, freelance writer, blogger and motivational speaker. Learn more here or connect on Facebook.

