This article was written for the Association of Female Executives of Trinidad and Tobago’s (AFETT) Take Note Newsletter – October 2016 Issue.

A thought for this article came to me at the very moment when I was ‘feeling the feeling’ as the caption and song says. But I’m sure the calypsonian The Mighty Shadow did not mean those lyrics in quite the same way :-). Many times especially as females we are required to wear many hats as we juggle several responsibilities. Let’s be honest for a minute, some days you just wish you can pull down the shades and crawl back beneath your covers as you shut the entire world out if only for a day (or an hour more!).

Many working professionals go to bed late and get up at the crack of dawn to prepare meals and see that the husbands and/or children are well equipped for the day ahead. Then they get ready to hit the traffic, make drops offs and get to work, then to do it all again in the afternoon, meanwhile squeezing in time for exercise, alone time and even side businesses. Like Kermit said, “it’s not easy being green…sheesh!”

London Scout.jpg
photo credit – London Scout. http://www.unsplash.com

But seriously, it’s not an easy life, but many of us do it all again and again for many years without complaining except to our girlfriends. While others (like myself) don’t have that quantum of responsibility just yet, it’s still a bit difficult at times to muster up the energy, courage and inspiration to create our businesses and/or careers as a hallmark of our brand and legacy and to give us a sense of fulfillment and purpose.

This may be a bit of TMI (too much information) to read in black and white and I can only speak for myself, but it sometimes gets even harder at a particular time of the month in some cases as our hormones make it challenging physically and emotionally. Meanwhile our male counterparts get off scot-free (or scotch-free as we like to say in our parlance – the paradox)! While some women can trudge through these feelings without batting an eye, some are victimized and singled out for the frailties of our kin.

So how does one find the strength you may be asking? For me, I do one of two things.

‘Give way to a brighter day’

The first option is to give in to those feelings and let it permeate your being. Luckily I work for myself, so some days I can do that, even if it’s at least for a few hours. If I feel like moping or being sad, I do that for a quick minute then I recoup and do something constructive. I get rest, meditate, pray, say affirmations, remind myself of the impact I am making and how much my ideal clients need me by looking at photos or reading testimonials, doing introspection and giving thanks for my blessings and gifts.

IMG-20130308-00588.jpg
photo credit – Carolyn K. Correia. Pigeon Pt beach, Tobago

Other things I do to find healing and get back that mojo is to drink lots of water (or wine 🙂 ), watch an inspiring or funny video, chat/ go out and enjoy the company of a fun loving friend, sing karaoke or go for a long drive and bask in the liberating feeling of doing absolutely nothing, while I recharge my batteries and totally unplug from the routine and distractions of living and appreciating life in its truest essence.

Above all, I steer clear of toxic and/or disingenuous people. I repeat often as required. Each time I return, I find that I am at peace, happier, recalibrated and raring to go and create again!

Internalize, prioritize and sensitize.

Most times everything is mental. That’s right, it’s all in the mind. Once we have the foresight to internalize our challenges, the solutions will find us. The secret lies in being still, doing some introspection and writing things down step by step always help. Once you are able to do this, you can see what tasks can be done easily or by way of delegation.

The biggest challenge sometimes is procrastination. The things that seem daunting sometimes can be done in a few easy steps with minimal effort, if  only we programme our minds to get it started, set reminders and follow through to the end.

Also if we know what are our triggers, we can use that to invigorate us. For example, if you work best at a coffee shop or at the beach, move shop for a day or two! If you need to set the mood, light some scented candles, burn incense or use aromatic oils such as eucalyptus, the latter which is said to energize and reduce mental sluggishness.

cup of tea.jpg
photo credit – Carli Jeen. http://www.unsplash.com

If you need a cup of Earl Grey tea or your favourite blend of coffee or cappuccino to pep you up, get to brewing! Similarly, pick your best time of day to work – whether it’s early morning or late night, but be sure to get at least 7- 9 hours of rest each night.

The adage is spot on – Life is what you make it! It may not always be easy, fair or smooth sailing, but it can be happy and abundant if you learn to work smart.

Peace & Love ~

Carolyn K. Correia is the author of Thinking out LoudHow To Find Yourself and Claim What’s Yours and she missed the boat on love. She is also a communications consultant, freelance writer, blogger and motivational speaker. To learn more or purchase her books, log on to www.carolyncorreia.com or follow her on Facebook – CarolynCorreiaAuthor.

