Hope your weekend was well spent doing the things you love with the people you love. I always marvel at how as we get more mature, meet different people and have new experiences our perspective changes. I’m sure for most of us, our goals have changed over the decades. Case in point: would you believe if I told you at age 7 I wanted to be a pianist?

I have no recollection of this however, but it’s what my Dad always told me throughout my adult years to get me to play the piano at home. (Try to say the word pianist as a 7 year old!) He told me I cried for it and growing up he painted a picture of how great it would be to play in a band or be a concert pianist.

piano
photo credit – Jamille Queiroz. http://www.unsplash.com

As I remember now, I think maybe he told me that was his dream. He would have done anything if he could have played (rest his soul). In a way, sometimes I feel like I let him down as this would have made him so proud as he lived vicariously through my success in this field. However truth be told, this did not make me want to play any more frequently!

Why? Because it simply was not my passion and back then I was extremely bashful, to the point that I was afraid the neighbours would hear me making mistakes as I practiced! I played okay, but it did not come as easily and effortlessly as writing did to me in later years. It did not make my heart sing, it was just a hobby to me. A hobby that required A LOT of work.

All throughout primary and secondary school I took piano lessons from various teachers and did the Royal Schools of Music exams both theory and practical all the way up to Grade 4. After I graduated from Cambridge A-Levels, I call it quits! But it often crossed my mind to find someplace else to go to lessons and take it further.

Who knows, maybe one day I will return to my first love. The piano still sits at home (although my folks threatened to sell my childhood present several times) and it will go with me wherever I go. I will return and practice loud and often. I still do like the joy it brings and it is my promise to myself to make my father happy.

Fruits of Labour_pub Sep 2008The reason for telling you this story, is that sometimes we pursue careers for a number of reasons.

I spoke about this in my first book Thinking out Loud in the article – Fruits of our Labour and also at my Book Talk in April at The Chancellor Hotel, Trinidad.

What resonated with the audience (because I could tell by the nods and looks of yass, I’ve been there!) was that we sometimes lose sight of our real passions and purpose in an effort to conform.

We may do a job so a parent can live vicariously through us.

We may do a job for societal reasons – to keep up with the Joneses because it looks glamorous and prestigious and lucrative.

And this next one is common – we may do a job purely for economic reasons – to put food on the table and provide for ourselves and our families if we have one.

And I totally get that last one, because that used to be me.

When it got too much, I took a huge gamble and changed careers and even moved to another island. Before too long, I realized that wasn’t cutting it either because I had soo much more to give to the world if only I could find a practical way to follow my passion full time and truly live my purpose on my own terms. Due to family commitments, I moved back home and took another gamble to start my business.

Best. decision. ever.

Luckily or maybe not so luckily depending on how you look at it, I have no one to feed or support but myself and I still have a safety net to rely on if my business goes completely bust tomorrow! But now I am convinced that I am not going to let that happen. I am committed to the very end (and I most always get what I set out to do).

The first couple years of business are always the hardest. My friends and colleagues all told me at the beginning that you don’t make profits until after 5 years of entrepreneurship. But everybody’s situation is different based on their expenses and their type of business. And of course how hard you hustle and the tools and networks that are available to you and your business.

map
photo credit – Jean – Frederic Fortier. http://www.unsplash.com

I have found that I was exposed to a lot of resources and people that were willing to help me – most times for free. It was an amazing blessing. I like to attribute things like this to my Creator, because stuff like this just don’t happen on it’s own or by your own volition.

It does however have something to do with your thoughts, actions, your mentality and mindset and general modus operandi – what you put into the atmosphere/universe – how you treat people, the things you say and how you carry about your life. But more on that in my next Book Talk & Jazz on October 8th.

Before this blog turns into another book, I will tell you this. Once you find your passion and you are doing it for the right reasons, it has the potential to open up doors for you like never before. But that’s not enough, you have to work hard if you want to be a success. But success is another story which we will also talk about in October.

Money doesn’t maketh man, but you do need it to survive. I could tell you something the calypsonian the Mighty Sparrow sang about back in the day and what my comedian friend Allan always tells me, but I don’t think my international readers will get it. 😀

But you can’t be foolhardy and expect money to rain down from the sky and fall into your lap and pay your bills either. That stuff just doesn’t happen in real life, unless you’re the daughter/son of a billionaire. And how many of us are that lucky? (that too is debatable)

Honestly, the first couple decades of my life have been relatively easy, so when I started my business I really thought I will send out an email or two and post some stuff on social media willy nilly and through friends and random meetings with strangers, the Universe/The Lord will send me clients.

But uh uh, I was in for another rude awakening. It looked that way at first, but things didn’t quite pan out that way. Yet somehow I survived the first 2 years. But my savings won’t agree with me totally!

Book Talk & Jazz - FederationI have learnt my lessons and learnt it well and many positive things have been happening all throughout this journey.

Friends and strangers alike most times recognize that fire and passion in me and reach out in ways that are unbelievably too good to be true.

While I know there’s more hustle in me, the strategies I have employed so far to grow my business are working and it just so happens, that the Universe is also now sending clients my way!

I will tell you my secret which is aged old, tried and true by all the gurus of our time!

If you want to learn how to identify your passion and purpose, create abundance and find out how my business is improving and growing slow but steady as I follow my passion, live my purpose and have fun in the process, email inspirationescape@gmail.com or call 798-8596 for tickets for my last Book Talk & Jazz event to close 2016!

It’s gonna be a FUN-tastic, enlightening evening to remember and I can’t wait to share with you.

Have a beautiful week and Independence holiday!

Peace & Love,
Carolyn xo

