Hey guys…you may recall me saying on an occasion or two that happiness and success is in the eyes of the beholder. But guess what? Sometimes it’s out of our control. You ever had those moments in life when no matter how hard you try, you can’t shake that feeling?

Yup, you know the ones. Where we have lots to be grateful for and yet still we find things to complain about. The weather. Our family (parents/spouse/kids/siblings), our jobs, our pay cheque, the government, our pet rabbit, that rotten guy or gal that just wasted our time!!

Ahhh the list is exhaustive.

We compare our journey to others and we get derailed by the illusion (of perfection).

We beat ourselves up for no reason.

We doubt our capabilities/talents and the meaning/value we bring to life.

We let disappointment and failure make us throw in the towel too soon.

We think we are too old, too young, too fat, too thin, don’t have the right last name, the right connections, don’t look a certain way or don’t hang with the right clique.

But you know what, sometimes we are own worst enemy (yes I am guilty too!). At times we make ourselves miserable for no reason. We like pity parties and guilt trips because it’s the easy thing to do and we want someone to blame or care enough to console us.

The difference between being happy and being miserable is a choice! Yup! It’s a conscious decision we make each moment of every day.

choice blog promo 1
photo credit – http://www.unsplash.com

A choice to say no.

A choice to say yes.

A choice to get up and get and change something in our lives we don’t like.

A choice to MOVE.

A choice to have standards and goals and stick to them.

A choice to fight for what’s ours and don’t take no for an answer!!!

A choice to say goodbye to fear and negativity and regret and lack.

A choice to prepare, to take baby steps to leave our comfort zones and live the life of our dreams – no holds barred!!!!!!

It can be done.

But I’ll tell ya the truth. It takes guts and courage and sacrifice and time and patience and umph (willpower)…Yeah lots of that.

It takes introspection and meditation, self-knowledge and inner strength. But like everything else, these qualities take practice. It’s like a muscle…it needs exercise, food and training.

It requires surrounding yourself with the right people, tools and situations to bring about this kind of change and mindset. Once you do that, you’re on your way to success.

You can’t surround yourself with toxic people who throw water on your dreams and your spirit or who are going nowhere fast.

You can’t do the same things and behave the same way every day for years and expect results and miracles to show up in your life.

That’s where authors like myself come in. We’ve been there and we know how to work through those feelings and stay on the train to where we want to go in life without giving up.

Can you keep a secret??! Come close…shhhh….Often times when people read my work, hear me speak and meet me for the first time….they think I’m this perfect person who has all their ducks in a row and does and says all the rights things ALL the time.

Wow. That’s cool and everything. And I am soo very humbled and honoured. But hey guys, guess what…that is so far from the truth!! I am a human being like everyone else. I have my faults and fair share of bad days.

I can be moody and here’s another secret (my pet peeve is when drivers give me a bad Book Talk & Jazz - Federationdrive, my sister (who lives in the states) keeps telling me I need anger management, but that’s another story haha).

Seriously, all this to say, the most driven, creative, ambitious people in the world are actually normal just like you and me.

They are not perfect but I can only speak for myself. But most people who attain their goals know themselves inside out, know what they want, how to go after it, give it all they got and don’t stop till they get it.

We may lack the motivation on some days and it may take a while to really get to the top of our game, but we never give up, no matter how many times we fall.

If you want to learn how I stopped being a dreamer and started living my dreams, you have a chance/choice to hear me live on Saturday 8th October, 2016 at a private poolside location in Federation Park, Trinidad.

You will have a chance to interact with the audience, get motivational insights, listen to amazing jazz songs and stories, meet other like minds, purchase autographed copies of my 2 books and audio book and get plenty food for thought about the life you really want and deserve to live (haa did you think I was gonna say something else?!).

Here’s what a patron had to say at my last event in April:

    • I had met Carolyn only once but for some reason, after she had shared her story the first _TEV8925time I’d met her, I felt a need to go and hear how someone with no world-renowned brand behind her managed to build herself up and successfully pursue her dreams.

      I must say, I left Carolyn’s book talk filled with a hope and a fire that, even though times may be tough and you’re working just for working sake, it’s okay to take that risk, it’s okay to not have your life mapped out before you and feel disappointed if things don’t go as planned.

      I thought to myself, “I’m not the only one!” It was comforting to know that she who is now so successful and happy career-wise went through struggles and periods of uncertainty for years before finding her voice.

      Carolyn you’re a true inspiration, you may not see yourself as such, but you truly are. Many can relate to your story because I believe you represent what we all wish to do and be: find our voice and do what we’re passionate about. Looking forward to the next book talk and this time I am getting my autographed copy of your book!

       
      Chelsie Murray -Diplomatic Mission

The HUGE risks entrepreneurs take

As an entrepreneur you take calculated risks and this Book Talk initiative was a huge risk…it was testing the waters to see if persons were interested in this sort of thing in Trinidad and Tobago, but to my surprise it was received extremely well by all members of the audience that I spoke to afterwards.
At one point during the talk, I mentioned that I wasn’t sure if I was gonna make any money from this first venture, but if one person walked away inspired I would have fulfilled my purpose.

My great BIG surprise

Lo and be hold, Chelsie (who I had only just met a month before) walked up to me afterwards and said, “Carolyn, what you said, touched me here (pointing to her heart) and you know what, I am your ONE person!”
Wow. How about that. Well I’ll be damned. LOL Not. I was not damned but it was an amazing feeling to hear something like this – what I’ve dreamt of for years.

Do something for the love and from a place of service – to make lives better and your rewards will be endless. True abundance will be yours.

 

THINK BIG>DREAM BIG>TAKE ACTION>RECEIVE>LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE.

For tickets email inspirationescape@gmail.com or call 798-8596. For more info on me visit – www.carolyncorreia.com

 

Peace & Love,
Carolyn xo

