Howdie and Happy Sunday!

Just returned from a fantastic business launch a few hours ago and after a quick nap, I am now up and ready to go again. Life can truly be a gift especially when you are following your dream and making people’s lives better in the process.

dreams
photo credit – Jamie Handley. http://www.unsplash.com

Sometimes life works in your favour, your spirits are soaring – you are on top of the world.

Then other times (based on your genes, disposition and/or circumstance) you may hit a blind corner and everything seems to go wrong.

You may wake up not feeling right, low on energy, short on temper and everything seems to fuel your bad mood.

You may realize that your life is not what you thought it would be at 25, 30, 35, 40, 50…and you just don’t know how you got to this place or how to fix it.

First things first, don’t blame yourself. It happens to the best of us. I read a testimonial a few days ago from a young woman who attended my last Book Talk and it’s still sinking in. At the launch tonight I realized that she had really told all of her friends about how much my talk inspired her! Wow. She reminded me that my experience is not singular.

The way I felt years ago, other people have also felt and are still feeling. The honest sharing of my experiences made people feel normal. One woman and business owner (who also inspires me!) was also fighting back tears. ohemgee. It’s surreal what dreams can do.

When I look back on those years, it seems like a lifetime ago. I never thought I would EVER have the guts to write or even talk about this. I was brought up to keep these things to myself. So to have my mother and sister in the audience and be okay with this and be proud of my journey, was nothing short of exhilarating.

Although I practiced my speech with them weeks before until it was burnt into my memory, for a brief moment I thought my mom would have jumped up in the audience and say, “Girl, hush your mouth!” But yes, I jest…or maybe not.

Honestly, I don’t know exactly how it all changed, but I do know I had to believe in a dream…that better was on its way.

I had to believe in myself…that I deserved much more and was capable of much more. 

dare to dream
photo credit – Dayne Topkin. http://www.unsplash.com

I had to believe that other people’s myopic opinion of me doesn’t define me, nor my past actions or decisions….yesterday or yesteryear, because I am evolving every day.

And above all, I had to believe in a God that was Higher than me who knew I was destined for this from the day I was born.

You know your character is stronger than you know, when you look around your life and you see the people who know you inside out for many years – who have seen you on your (very) worst days, yet they still want to be by your side. The ones who call/message you (almost) every day or come to your house just because.

The ones that make you believe that “this too shall pass” and when it does, they have a big ole party in your honour.

Your family most times will always be there for you, but when non-blood related people listen to you wine or rant for hours (not all at once) and can show you a better way while still seeing the good in you, you know that you have found a true gem.

How you get there…

You have to set your goals. You have to break the mould. Keep them close at hand. You gotta be your biggest fan. Make success a priority. And don’t listen to the minority who tell you, you can’t or won’t or shouldn’t follow your dream. Know that you are destined for greatness. Even when it seems that you won’t make it.

Allow the vision of your future to guide you, but don’t get up caught up with the details, stay focused on the present. Pursue ‘worthy goals’, not just for the heck of it, but to make people’s lives better, to bring about change, make this world happier.

Then watch the stars align in your favour as everything falls into place like it was meant to be and wait for the right people and situations to follow you wherever you go.

Nature-invite-CarolynI’ll share something my master of ceremonies – Avolon Thomas said at my Trinidad book launch when I sent her the picture slideshow of my progressive professional journey – “I love this. I admire the fact that you made a decision to follow your passion. Success is on your doorstep. Proud of you.’

More and more people have been telling me this. So my words to you is to be an example to others. Don’t force perfection. You are human. You will succeed in spite of your flaws once your heart is pure. 

Step out of your box/comfort zone and just live the life you were meant to be. Your Best Life!

Even if you falter, there will be people waiting to support you. Everyone may not be as fortunate as me (to have that support), but there are other ways to put things in place. Let me show you how on Sunday 26th June at Maracas Gardens, St. Joseph (if you’re in Trinidad).

Stay tuned.

Peace & Love,
Carolyn xo

For more subscribe at your top right, visit – www.carolyncorreia.com or RSVP  here

 

