Hi all,

So sorry to be away from my blog, but it’s been crunch time around here planning the details of my first evening of Book Talk & Jazz.

First I want to say thank you for the emails and shares…I can feel the love and I hope you can make it on Saturday 2nd April, 2016 at 6pm!

I’m happy to announce that tickets are now available at The Chancellor Hotel (8:30 am – 5 pm) and the San Juan library (8:30 am – 6 pm Mon-Fri, Sat 8:30 am – 4 pm).

The event page on Facebook is also up and you can RSVP here.

Because I want everyone to be able to experience this event, it’s priced at just TTD150.

You can’t go wrong folks: Outstanding, original music, insights, sharing, interaction, inspiration, motivation, networking, laughs, (therapy!) in a cool bistro setting where you can order all your delicious treats while you enjoy the fun evening! 

I am so excited to tell you more about The Chancellor Hotel as well as my other sponsor and Jazz singer, but tonight I’d give you something else.

Do you know what I’ve noticed within recent years?

Almost everyone I talk to have expressed some desire to write (a book or start their own business), so I’ll share with you a little about what my book writing journey was like.

I’m not going to lie to you, some of those days and nights were tough on the mind and on the body. 

But I’ll tell you something else…

photo-1434030216411-0b793f4b4173
photo credit – Green Chameleon. http://www.unsplash.com

 

Once you have a natural talent and love what you do and your goal is to enrich the lives of others, I am here to show you why you too, can write!

I believe writing a book must serve at least one of these 3 purposes:

  • To inform/educate
  • To inspire/motivate
  • To entertain

During my quiet moments on Sunday, I was thrown back into a memory of writing my second book – How To Find Yourself & Claim What’s Yours

It took me 6 years to write it!

There were some days when it felt like an uphill struggle and I asked myself, “What is all of this for? Would anybody really care!?”

I did not think I had it within me to finish, I didn’t even think I had enough things to say to fill all of those pages. 

I got a bad review from someone close to me in the beginning and I shelved it for a few years. Then several years later when I moved to Tobago, I picked it up again and started to write from a place of peace, contentment and healing. (I think I need some of that again!)

Again I got reviews and I took it in stride and incorporated all the things that were said. I wrote some more when I moved back home to Trinidad and each time I opened the manuscript to write, I saw a metamorphosis. (all in the book!)

I kept changing words, rearranging stuff and adding sentences and 157 pages later, I saw my growth and development as I left my imprint and experience on those pages. I was astonished with how far I’d come as I looked back on those 6 years of sweat.

Some days I would write literally thousands of words that would take me into the wee morning hours of the next day.

Through the window over my desk, I could hear the birds singing outside and see the first signs of morning. I think one time I could even smell the bacon next door as my neighbours got ready for work and I was now heading to bed.

And other times all I could muster was a few hundred words. What kept me going was the vision of the finished book in my hands and getting it into the hands of my readers to hear their feedback. (I even had a life-like dream of what it would look like!)

The light at the end of the tunnel

I really pushed myself hard because I was so driven by my passion. After my Dad passed away, I wrote the final chapter and finally the epilogue which was a tribute to him since he was my inspiration and also mentioned throughout the book.

photo-1443916568596-df5a58c445e9
photo credit – Austin Shmid. http://www.unsplash.com

One day I found my editor, Patricia Grannum (who I’d known before) on Google Plus  and voila!

The pieces all came together like a dream! (again all in the book!)

I excitedly sent her the finished manuscript Christmas of 2014 and waited for her response.

That December night on Skype I realized my work had just begun. I don’t think I was ready for her next words…

She told me something was missing and I needed to “bleed on the page” to connect the dots for readers. Imagine that! 

All my years of hard work and rewrites and she is telling me to bleed?! I didn’t think I could do it, nor did I want to share so much, but I took it in stride and revised the manuscript 3 more times (Patricia just has this way).

She said to me, “Carolyn, how are people supposed to know how you came by all this wisdom?”

The result was astronomical. So much so, that even she was amazed by how much the work had transformed.

After a few sessions, I started calling Patricia my book coach…yes guys and gals she was that good! (I can link you if you like 🙂

To make a long story short. I got two independent beta readers to test the waters and they loved it and as of June 2015, I am now the author of 2 books and true to every word.

A couple people told me they could actually hear my voice as they read, because it’s so me!

The second book charts my professional journey over the last 6 years…from unfulfillment to fulfillment to liberation and exultation having found my true calling and purpose.

In my book talk, I will tell you what that journey was really like and also answer any questions you may have.Picture 1

Book Signing

I will be autographing copies of both books which will be sale at my Book Talk at specially discounted prices.

For that night only, you will pay only $90 for Thinking out Loud (a collection of articles formerly published in the Woman Express and Panache Jamaica magazine).

How To Find Yourself & Claim What’s Yours (an inspirational memoir) will be available for $130.

I also produced a 2 CD audio book of Thinking out Loud which will be $150.

If you really love this first Book Talk, I will have others at The Chancellor Hotel and other venues. I will eventually invite guest speakers and authors to share their journey.

As I grow and other people join me on my journey, there will be more giveaways and special treats just for you! I can’t wait…

It’s all about you and how I can fill your needs! But I need to hear from YOU!

Please continue to share my posts with your friends. I really appreciate the support 🙂

If you would like to reserve tickets, please comment below or send an email to inspirationescape@gmail.com or go on down to The Chancellor Hotel and the San Juan library to get your tickets!

For more on me, you can visit my spanking new website here: www.carolyncorreia.co

Until next time,

Peace & Love,
Carolyn xo

