This Saturday met me doing absolutely nothing and I was happy. Why? Because it was a break from the hectic pace of life. For the past few weeks and months, the day usually found me attending some event, doing an interview for the newspaper or finishing work for a client. But today I took the advice of my business coach and took a time-out….and it was all kinds of amazing.

I wanted to do it for a while, but somehow circumstances did not permit. I started taking a day or two off (from working at home) 2 years ago when my Dad was alive, because I wanted to spend more time with him, but somehow I found myself buried in work again. Maybe I used it as an excuse or maybe I’m just addicted to work! But I decided to try again.

My Friday night fever started yesterday (duh, it was Friday! :-). I clocked out and hit the shut down button on my computer way before dark (a first!) and mellowed out on the porch with my mum.

One minute I was making paprika and geera broccoli with cheese and before I knew it, I was getting dressed to go out.

melissa askew party
photo credit – Melissa Askew. www. unsplash.com

I started off one place and ended up at a party! Can you believe?! Ha! It was hella fun. I realized while I was cocooned in my own world, the rest of the world was outside having a blast. I even saw some things that made me go…Hmmmm.

It’s so good to have spontaneous friends. Due to my big project last quarter, I had to hang up my karaoke and dancing shoes for a bit, so I forgot what oodles of fun these guy(s) are! I soca’d, salsa’d and danced the macarena! It was too funny.

I realized something else, while work is good, you must make time to unwind otherwise you will just well – burn out! As the good ole saying goes, “all work and no play makes Jack/Jane a dull boy/girl.”

And I certainly don’t want to be Jane. “Lyn” is so much more fun :D. I even started waking up earlier and more refreshed again! Amazing.

You also have to make time to reward yourself, otherwise you won’t recognize the value of your hard work and work twice as hard next time, because there would be nothing to look forward to.

 

rhianon lassila
photo credit – Rhianon Lassila. http://www.unsplash.com

This Saturday I also have a lot of things to celebrate (which will all be revealed in time.) 

A simple thought followed up with an action, resulted in amazing connections being made and words can’t express my gratitude for the stars aligning in my favour.

Have you ever connected with someone whether business or pleasure and you feel in your blood that this is where you should be at this precise time?!

Yeah? Me too! Sometimes you can’t believe your luck and you say to yourself, “Boy am I lucky!” But it has nothing to do with luck.

Somethings are just for you and others are not.

Some things may work out now and others may work out in the future.

Trust that you are exactly where you need to be at this given moment.

Nothing before it’s time. And don’t beat yourself over the head because things did not work out! Why? Because it just wasn’t for you!

God (or the Universe) has something greater planned for you and you must remain open and not get bitter and disenchanted in order to receive it.

Whether it’s a job, relationship, business deal or event. What is for you, is simply for you. Even if things don’t work out as planned, the period in which it did, was exactly as it was meant to be.

Here’s why…

Maybe you met some really cool people while you were there, or maybe someone heard of your work [or you] or maybe the experience just taught you a lesson or increased your knowledge base.

Accept it for what it was and take it with you on the next step of your journey. No experience in life is wasted.

Positivity, persistence and keeping an open mind can get you anywhere you need to go.

Give it time. Stay open to the infinite blessings life has to offer. You would be surprised how all the stars will begin to align in your favour too.

You are destined for GREATNESS!!!

Don’t ever forget it…

 

Tomorrow is Valentine’s! You are all my Valentines and I love you to pieces:-)

Peace, love, Love & MORE LOVE!!!

Carolyn xo

