Happy Carnival! It’s official. The Greatest Show On Earth is about to go down where I live (in Trinidad & Tobago…I’m sure you knew that by now ;-)…or rather it’s going down right now! Yesterday was Fantastic Friday, so the Soca Monarch competition and a few fetes are underway as we speak. In fact I am getting a steady stream of photos on my social media feeds, which reminds me it’s that time again. Me on the other hand…errr….

I am home watching old kaiso videos like Chinese Accident by Lord Blakie (and laughing my head off –they just don’t make them like that anymore), reading, doing research, eating mangoes, drinking tea and dawdling on the internet. The story of my life. Ha!

I went to a “small lime” (hang-out) at my cousin’s house earlier this evening and after 4 glasses of Prosecco and a cup of tea, I think it was time to call it a night (I’m just not as young as I used to be!).

anthony delanoix
photo credit – Anthony Delanoix. http://www.unsplash.com

This led me home to tie up some loose ends, respond to emails and chat with my developer who’s building the MOST AMAZING website I’ve seen on the internet…and well of course the mango eating! 

This weekend I decided to take it easy and make the most of these 4 glorious days without alarms, deadlines and eek computers! Don’t know if I can live without that last one, but for the first time in ages, I did not feel like turning on my computer these last couple days. I say when your body and mind is calling for rest, you have to listen.

lance anderson
photo credit – Lance Anderson. http://www.unsplash.com

I can sleep to my heart’s content. Next week is back to the grind. I’ve already scheduled meetings, interviews, phone calls, follow-ups, homework for my business coach aka plans for my FUTURE!!! Action, action, ACTION! Yes, never a dull moment in my world lol

Maybe one of these days I’ll take a real vacation, but for now it’s the hustle of real life. Which brings me to an important point…

The first 2 years of my business, I don’t think I was really focusing on making money for some odd reason :S (I was more concerned with my writing, finishing my book and building my brand) Somehow I kinda got by on the bare minimum. The few projects that fell into my lap, together with my book sales and freelance writing, supported my few basic expenses.

I adjusted my lifestyle and I was happy. I was surprisingly happier than when I was employed full time, because I was doing what I loved and my time was my own.

ALBUM COVER
My Tobago Launch!!

Oddly enough I was able to do a few cool and fun things like publish my second book, take my parents and later my sister out for mini celebrations on their birthdays and such and last year a few trips to Tobago.

My mother visited the island in 2015 for the first time in her life! (Mind you I had to steal her ID one day to book the ticket, because since my Dad passed away she didn’t want to go anywhere too far, but it was soo worth it.)

And my sister hadn’t seen the sister isle since the 80s. I took them everywhere imaginable (including the countryside and some of my old hangouts and where I used to live). To hear the surprise and joy in their voices as we drove off the ferry that first day was priceless!

I think this is what life is all about. Not worrying about the why and how, but just winging it and see where it leads.

And it came to pass.

After my two book launches (one on both islands) and a series of book talks, my business improved by leaps and bounds and everything everyone was telling me came to pass.

I can’t believe I doubted it for a minute and got (briefly) stymied by the naysayers….who questioned me even having a launch or publishing my book!

Everything worked out beautifully in Divine Order.

My writing and the publication of this second book (like the first) opened up doors for me and even led me back to this amazing ball of positive energy and passion — I like to call her —Electrifying Adanna aka my Business/Life coach.

She is proof that when you are really passionate about something and you want it badly enough, success will be yours. I’ve spoken to her other clients and they agree.

adanna
Fun at work!

She is just a beautiful soul that believed in me from the start and saw my potential. Such positivity and love I’ve never seen in quite the same way. I felt the same way (and still do) about my marketing guru the year before. I feel really blessed to be surrounded by tonnes of positive people and Adanna brings a whole new dimension to the word. 

At the end of 2015, I had dreams…but at the start of 2016 I have a plan to make those dreams into reachable goals. And for the first time, I think it can happen. It may take a bit longer, but I’m making Jimmy Cliff’s song my new mantra…“I can see clearly now!”

It’s only a matter of time. Sooon…

Like Adanna said to me on Ole Year’s (New Year’s Eve) from her rooftop in Barbados via WhatsApp – “We’ll be a force to be reckoned with …we’ll make 2016 ROCK!”

You can do it too!! Are you dreaming of a better, more fulfilling life? 

Stay tunnneed!

Happy Saturday!

Peace & Love,
Carolyn xo

