Happy February 1st! Just a couple years ago, I used to hate this time of year. Not because it’s Carnival in these parts (well, that too), but because I think I had to say goodbye to Christmas.

My favourite time of year started around September. For no reason in particular, I just loved this time of year. In my country of Trinidad and Tobago, the parang season begins at this time, so some of the local radio stations start playing this festive Spanish music.

Ly Gia Phu
photo credit – Ly Gia Phu. http://www.unsplash.com

And everything about the year just felt good!

Then almost 2 years ago at the beginning of December my dear Dad passed away.

And my favourite time of year no longer held that magic for me that it once did.

In fact starting November last year, I started to feel this sadness lurking deep within my soul. But I didn’t know why.

I thought I was probably burnt out from working too hard.

Then I thought I was focusing too much on some personal nonsense stresses that was occurring at the time.

But no, it was the fact that my father was no longer here to celebrate this time of year with me.

And no matter how many things I tried to distract myself with, the memories of the year before came flooding back. He was irreplaceable.

But … on the flip side, I am now suddenly beginning to enjoy the first half of the year! And it gives me hope that I would soon enjoy Christmas again.

January and February are filled with birthdays in my family as well as many of my friends and colleagues. So somehow I am feeling quasi-festive.

Lots of other exciting things are happening in the background which I can’t wait to reveal to you. As I approach this new season in my life and career, I am here to share my lessons, joys and feelings with you.

I am not going to hide or pretend when things are not okay. You will know. Maybe not all the details, but you will sense something is not quite right.

I will attempt to make a few jokes, but my goal is that you would find the inspiration to LIVE OUT LOUD (in the safest way possible).

I will continue to THINK OUT LOUD and I hope I inspire you to do the same.

Life is a marvelous adventure. It’s short. You only get once chance. So make the most of it while you can. There’s no time for regret or I should have’s.

The only time to LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE IS NOW!

Until next time…

Peace & Love,

Carolyn x

