Happy Saturday night my loves πŸ™‚ Thanks for following my blog or if you just happened to stumble upon it, feel free to stick around and subscribe!

When this week began, I thought it would have been at a slower pace, but somehow I feel like it’s gone by in a whoosh! It feels like weeks went by in just a few days.

Time is a marvelous thing. To some it may mean the world and to others, it can’t go by fast enough.Β I talk about this often in my books and speaking, but it’s worth repeating since many people may have never heard me say it.

This moment right here is all you have! It goes by soo quickly. It is very important to be present for the present, because when it’s gone…that’s it! You can never get back this moment, recreate it, recapture it, go back or experience it in quite the same way. No matter what you do, it would never, ever be the same.

marriage
photo credit – Greg Rokosy. http://www.unsplash.com

Many moons ago, I think I was a COMPLETELY DIFFERENT PERSON! My personality has morphed into so many different shades and colours of Carolyn since then! Once upon a time, I was a tiny (literally), introverted, bashful little girl…afraid of the world….afraid of life even. I spoke in a soft voice and I was afraid to be heard…I was afraid to be seen.

I was very nonchalant…about virtually everything! As a result, I let a lot of opportunities, friendships and moments slip through my fingers without even realizing until it was too late because I DID NOT LIVE IN THE MOMENT! And I had a lot of regrets in later years.

Today, I am afraid to be quiet! Sometimes you can’t get me to stop talking. If I really, really like you, I can talk you into next Tuesday without coming up for air. lol. I make friends very quickly and strangers gravitate toward me and vice versa.

Oddly enough, back then, people still gravitated toward me, but I was oblivious as if in another world. As a result those relationships died a natural death of apathy.

Flash-forward several years later and now I am told I’m fun and funny?! Ha.Β In fact I’m told a lot of things. You either love me or hate me.Β (I’ve had both happen….sometimes simultaneously.)Β 

People often break out into hysterical laughter when I am just being myself and trying to be normal…Young, old, male, female, all walks of life, very serious or very funny themselves (when we get together, that’s usually a very intoxicating combination :D).

When people get to know me, they are sometimes surprised to find out that I’m a ‘real’ person.Β 

friends on the beach
photo credit – Kimson Doan. http://www.unsplash.com

Sometimes they don’t believe what I’m telling them to be the truth about myself.Β The ones I let get really close can’t believe I actually have bad days and doubts and insecurities like everybody else.Β 

But the ones who are true, accept me for me and help me through those days and stick around so we can enjoy the fun times and learn through it all….because the fun times are REALLY FUN!Β 

My point is that no one is perfect…we are all works-in-progress and I never ever profess to be anything I am not. What you see is what you get. My friend Nadia of 20+ years always tells me this.

Friendships change, because well, people do, but the true ones stand the test of time…even though it’s not the same energy and excitement that it once was.

But like marriage (I imagine), the bonds of true friendship traverses distance and time and with technology you won’t miss a beat….whether it’s by plane, boat, BBM — now WhatsApp, text, E-mail, phone, Google hangouts or Skype.

Even if you’re in the same country or the other lives in Antarctica, bonds this strong would feel like you’re in the same room…no matter how much time has passed since you last spoke or saw each other.

world
photo credit – Nasa. http://www.unsplash.com

I am so grateful for all these people in my life that have stuck with me through the good, the bad and the ugly. They know me inside out and they make life go along so much happier and smoothly! I really don’t know what I’d do without them in my life.

I continue to pray for discernment to find out who deserves a bigger place in my life, because sometimes it’s hard. The things and people that make you feel good, may not always be right for you at the right time.

For everything there’s a season. Sometimes it’s really heartbreaking to come to terms and accept when a season has ended….and how you now categorize that part of your life. But all’s well that ends well.

If you’re really gifted and blessed, you may be able to find a way to make everything and everyone fit without choosing. But sometimes things merge and shift, people change and situations arise and you have to make a decision.

I’m not sure if any of this self-talk is making sense, but I’m hoping it can help someone out there who can identify. If you do, holler at me in the comments below.

I wish I can write more on this, but I am trying not to bore and confuse you anymore with a too-long blog! A lot of people have been telling me to try video blogs! Ahhh….I’m afraid…of soo many things…which is another blog πŸ™‚ Yeah! I am! But I’ve conquered greater fears…Life is good.

Have a Happy Sunday.

Peace & Love,
Carolyn xo

