It’s Friddddayyy!!! Cheers to the weekend 😀

Today I finished my article on the T&T legend I interviewed earlier this week. I’m excited about that. A little disappointed it took so long, but it was well worth it. It was like writing a mini book and condensing it into 1000 words! 

Busy is the new buzz word for me this year. Lots of things happening which I would all reveal in time. I’m super grateful and awestruck about that. Hope you are having a great start to the new year and making it count.

My share for today is that sometimes out of chaos, comes great insights and liberation.

As I sat at my computer for the last almost 14 hours, I found great strength, willpower and clarity. Also last night I was so tired, but determined to finish another article and project I was working on. Between thought and action, revelations flitted in and out of my head.

And just like that the answer emerged to a question that plagued me.

It was like a giant-sized light bulb (like the ones in the cartoons) went off in my head. Of course, I had to share it with someone before I forgot what it was and lost my momentum.

So I did the only thing I could think of and WhatsApp’d my friend at 2 am who I’m surprised was also up at this hour. 

woman on beach 2 catherine mcmahon
photo credit – Catherine McMahon. http://www.unsplash.com

It made me realize that sometimes we say things not knowing it has consequences.

This can set off a whole chain reactions of events either positive or negative.

When we withhold how we feel and lie to ourselves, we are actually putting up a wall between ourselves and other blessings and opportunities that may be coming our way. 

It affects how others treat us and our whole approach to living and ultimate joy.

Like by saying:

Lie: I don’t want to go outside today. It’s too dangerous. I have lots to do.

Truth: You really do want to breathe in that cool fresh air and feel the wind on your face.

Lie: I don’t feel hungry. I’m watching my weight. I’m trying to be modest.

Truth: You really do want that delicious, juicy steak. Knife and fork optional.

Lie: I don’t want to get my hair wet. I just had it done. It will take long to dry.

Truth: You really do want to take a splash in that ocean — head first and feel that sand beneath your toes. 

Lie: I am not interested in what you have to offer, let’s just be friends.

Truth: I’m afraid of getting hurt, but I’m willing to take the chance because you make me feel so happy and comfortable like never before.

There comes a point when you have to get outside of your head and make decisions based on your gut.

Not based on what your friends or family say.

Not based on the past or what you see in the movies or When Harry Met Sally.

But based on your own first-hand assessment of all the facts, weeding out the truths from the lies.

It’s not an overnight decision, but the truth always comes out on top in the end.

Take it from me…Don’t lie to yourself!

Have a great weekend!

See you next time.

Peace & Love,
Carolyn xo

