Christmas Day has come and gone in a rush and it’s now Boxing Day in these parts….which will also soon be over. A day usually spent visiting family and friends and enjoying the last remnants of pastelles, ponche de creme, sorrel, black cake, turkey and ham. These are some special treats made popular in the twin isle called Trinidad & Tobago where I’m from .

xmas food
pastelle (corn meal filled with meat) and Christmas black cake (made with fruits soaked in rum and brandy)

You have to try it to believe how wonderfully tasty they are. One indulgent bite or sip takes you on a sensational journey that feels like heaven. You forget all your troubles! No lie. Most of it has Spanish origins since we were once colonized by the Spaniards before the British.

Anyway, for me Christmas and Boxing Day were just another ordinary day. I spent most of the day doing work as I have a huge project due by the end of the year. Even if I didn’t, I would have probably stayed home and relaxed the time away, since we don’t have much family living in Trinidad. Many times I ask myself why am I still here, but the reason remains…this feels like home.

I often look at my friends (and neighbours) with their big families ‘paranging’ (Spanish Christmas music, also slang meaning to visit friends and family) from house to house and feel a bit depressed left out, then I think of those who have no family or live alone or are sick in bed or hospital. In this moment I am thankful for my health and my family that I sometimes complain about and can’t wait to escape from!

Sometimes I visit friends (or they come visit me) but most times I am an afterthought since everyone is soo busy in the hustle and bustle and merriment of the season. It’s really not the same. At the end of the day, I thank God for work, my art, life, health and all the good tidings and well wishes coming my way.

Come 2016 I have a lot of spring cleaning to do as I clear out that mental clutter and remove (or lesson) from my life the thoughts, situations and (sadly people!) that no longer serve my best interests. You know the ones that are not emotionally healthy….that cause more pain than joy.

While I work during these remaining days of 2015, I read, meditate, pray and ask for that spirit of discernment to tell the true from the fake and also rid myself of any behaviours that may not be healthy for me going into a new year with new plans and goals in mind.

If you were the source of my love, laughter, joy and abundance in 2015, I appreciate you from the bottom of my heart and then some. If I don’t say it often enough, I really do love the light you bring to my life.

Here’s to more of that in the New Year.

5 MORE DAYS FOR 2016!

5 MORE DAYS TO GET READY!

5 MORE DAYS TO PUT MY HOUSE IN ORDER!

5 MORE DAYS TO PUT MY GOALS IN MOTION!

5 MORE DAYS TO NEW HORIZONS…

MY DESTINY AWAITS!

All these things to say….I can’t wait!

What do you have planned?!

Peace & Love,

Carolyn x

