Sometimes we say things and get so caught up in our own thoughts that we don’t realize it has an impact on others. Especially if the other party(ies) don’t say anything (in an overt way), most times we would be none the wiser and continue along in our folly…Just a recent observation.

photo credit - C. K. Correia All rights reserved Toco 2015
photo credit – C. K. Correia All rights reserved Toco, Trinidad 2015

I’ve been on both ends of the spectrum where at times I realize I am hurt/offended by statements of the third party and they never even realized a thing.

And then on the opposite end where I say things and continue along thinking I was funny or witty only to realize later either by introspection/meditation or an indirect way that my words may have had the opposite effect….Food for Thought.

Today is Monday and we are days away from a new month…the month of October and moments away from new possibilities for abundance. I am often surprised by the turn of events in my life. How situations and people find me when I least expect it.

The exact situations I may need at the exact moment in order to evolve into a better and more improved me always appear without fail. Some situations may be just a learning experience to teach me something new or meant to allow me to slow down and enjoy life a little more.

photo credit - C. K. Correia All rights reserved 2015 Shark River, Matelot
photo credit – C. K. Correia All rights reserved 2015 Shark River, Matelot

I am indeed grateful for all these experiences coming my way. Each. And. Every. One. I smile at the thought. I am also aware that some of them may not work out exactly as I expect…

In fact, some of them may prove to be disappointing or even painful, but I plan on living in the moment and taking it as it comes, one singular moment at a time.

Appreciate it for what it is, take the lesson from it and move along until the next wave comes.

Life is an amazing adventure. Too amazing to waste it living in the past or with regret or what if. You never know what’s waiting for you on the other side if you don’t take a chance on life and relax in the moment.

This weekend I had two incredible experiences which I would share in detail later on. One was a very exciting and interactive Book Talk at the San Juan library where the audience truly appreciated what I was inspired to share. That alone brought so much joy and reward.

The second was going to the rural communities on the North Coast of Trinidad to cover a story for the newspaper that I write for. I went to the furthest point: Matelot then made my way back for recreation to San Souci,Toco and Valencia. Work hard, play hard.

My joy came from speaking to the residents, laughing and learning more about what makes Matelot special. Also bathing in the Matelot River which was totally unplanned which made it so unexpectedly wonderful and of course to top it all off with a cherry I got to watch the Blue Moon in San Souci!! It was amazing.

Of course what is a road trip without a cooler filled with drinks and stopping for more drinks along the way, sampling the local street food at places like D Big Yard Bar and barbeque pigtail in Valencia (only my second time!) and dancing in the moonlight to sweet sounds of reggae and Latin! LOL….Never thought I’d do that.

What a wonderful way to spend a Sunday.

Until next time,
Peace & Love

photo credit - C. K. Correia All rights reserved 2015 Toco, Trinidad
photo credit – C. K. Correia All rights reserved 2015 Toco, Trinidad
photo credit - C. K. Correia All rights reserved 2015...Blue Moon, San Souci, Trinidad
photo credit – C. K. Correia All rights reserved 2015…Blue Moon, San Souci, Trinidad
photo credit - C. K. Correia All rights reserved 2015, San Souci, Trinidad
photo credit – C. K. Correia All rights reserved 2015, San Souci, Trinidad
