photo credit - by kazuend www.unsplash.com
photo credit – by kazuend http://www.unsplash.com

So many hours in a day, yet I can’t seem to find time to blog every day…I admire all the bloggers that do!

With just a few more days to our Independence Day, I remember a conversation I had with a friend as I left her apartment the other night.

You hear me talking about Tobago a lot, but the place really holds some sacred memories and fun times for me. Maybe it was just too short a stay.

My friend and her significant other introduced me to my old landlords and they often came to visit and spend long weekends where I lived.

I remember having several lunches, barbecues, drinks and long talks till midnight and it made me feel so warm and at home to know they were just next door, even if it was only for a few days.

As I left her place this week, we were talking about watching the fireworks in the sister isle two years ago and how she would never forget how amazing it was to see the reflection on the water as they drove down the rolling hills. I had gone out earlier with friends so I saw it from the vantage point of the city. But she saw it as they drove and both were equally beautiful.independence

The experience living in Tobago was just different and unique in it’s own way. Maybe it was the city or the hills or just being away from home, yet so close. Even the time spent alone was very comforting and empowering. Words can’t describe. I felt independent in the true sense of the word. (My friend thinks I should document these experiences more intimately.)

The entire feeling of being on this island was as though I was on a secret hideaway far removed from all the hustle and bustle and problems that lay on the other side of the ocean. To say it was refreshing, can’t do it justice. DSC03051

When I limed/hung out with my familiar bunch, I felt as though nothing else mattered. We were alone and free to be ourselves and leave the whole world behind…

Work no longer mattered for those few hours. The past too was a distant memory…spoken about but seldom made to linger on our minds. And the future….the future was ours for the taking. We talked about our plans and how we were going to make them come to life one day. And that day is now.

I didn’t know it at the time, but all those moments, led me to this one right here. I never imagined that it would all turn out like this, but it’s an incredible adventure and I can’t wait to see where it leads.

You can read more about it in my new book – How To Find Yourself & Claim What’s Yours available at bookstores locally and on Amazon.com –  http://www.amazon.com/Find-Yourself-Claim-Whats-Yours/dp/151237816X

Wishing you a great weekend wherever you are, because home is where the heart is!

A lot of decisions were made in August 2013. Some I remember like yesterday. Some I struggled with and forged ahead. I can’t change them, but in retrospect I know I am better for it because it made me who I am and where I am today.

Feel free to drop me a line if you can relate!

Peace & Love,

Carolyn

