This blog is different from what I’m accustomed to. Beware.

They say ask and it shall be given unto you. Several things I’ve been praying for recently have materialized in lightning speed and I am soo thankful. One such thing was some leads to human interest stories for the newspaper that I write for. I got a call tonight and that solved that problem. Now if only I can think of the winning lotto numbers! lol

photo credit by Gabriel Santiago. www.unsplash.com
photo credit by Gabriel Santiago. http://www.unsplash.com

Today was my first day back at the gym after a two month hiatus. Another reason to celebrate. I had some health scares a while back and it’s safe to say that there’s absolutely nothing to worry about! I am elated 😀

I must say I did not feel it at first, because I thought I did little or nothing during my workout, but it was rough. Real rough. I feel beat up and tired, yet I still continue. Now I learn that I may have to make an early morning ‘run’ with my mother. Ahhh. And I have a meeting in the afternoon. There are worse things right?

Yeah like children dying of cancer and people not knowing where their next meal is coming from. I am thankful I have food and a roof over my head.

Sometimes we worry over the most inane things that’s just not worth a second thought. Like me worrying about someone not coming to my book launch….or returning my call or email. Or someone who came to my launch and said it was fantastic, then deleting me off facebook! Weird huh? But, yes there are worse things. I overthink things I think but this is probably a crescendo of recent past events.

I guess it’s better to weed out the insincere people sooner rather than later. Maybe I’ve just been shielded too much in my formative years…but I still wonder why we can’t just all get along? Seriously. Whatever happen to people saying what they mean and meaning what they say! I talk about this in chapter 5 of my new book (The Cold Harsh Truths) and 12 chapters later, I’m still faced with the same dilemma.

The question of who to trust and letting go of “weak links”…the ones that no longer serve you or were not meant to have a place in your life. The ones that smile and wish you well, when this is not the intention deep down. I think I need a built-in radar that first detects it and then flashes bright red and tells me not to give a damn! lol

As my friends tell me all the time: “this is life Carolyn, welcome to the real world…you are late!” lol

I probably am. But maybe I’m just an idealist wishing the world was just made up of marshmallows and cookies and cream where people said exactly what’s on their mind.

I am slowly waking up from this fairy tale. But I take out my magic fairy dust for special occasions like today. I had the greatest day when I presented two very special people with books. I think autographing and seeing the looks on people’s faces as they read their inscription is the second best part after writing it. Of course the feedback and reviews is also one of the most gratifying parts of being an author. I won’t trade that high for all the chocolate (or wine) in the world.

Suddenly I’m not tired anymore. If I keep on writing maybe I won’t need that fairy dust after all.

Peace & Love

If you fancy this, you can follow me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CarolynCorreiaAuthor

