I just LOVE the internet. And books. And music. And interesting people. Not in that order. Of course there’s a downside to all of these things. Speaking of which, since I started my own business last year, I’ve been downloading a lot of free e-books on how to plan a killer book launch for example; how to become a best-selling author and generally anything that meets my fancy. I have my father to thank for introducing me to this great resource (I talk about this as I pay tribute to him and my mom in my new book).

There’s soo much information out there, sometimes I feel a bit overwhelmed trying to absorb it all! A few people have also pointed me to some really cool stuff and I’m so grateful for that 🙂

photo credit by Padurariu Alexandru www.unsplash.com
photo credit by Padurariu Alexandru http://www.unsplash.com

I just started reading this cool book by fellow Trinidadian author Akosua Dardaine-Edwards — Nyabo (Madam) Why Are You Here? I must say I’m really enjoying it!

Not many times I finish books because I’m so inundated with creating stuff of my own, but this is one book that I think I have to finish. It’s real life stuff that reels you in…and funny as hay!

When you think you know someone, I guess you really don’t! I feel like I just stepped into her head and heart and was transported to her life when she worked in Africa. Her humour is infectious and therapeutic.

I’ve been having a couple bad days (since for some reason of late I end up strolling too far down memory lane) and I get to take my mind off this as I suddenly find myself laughing out loud at odd hours of the night and day while reading this book lol.

Last night as I listened to the Best of the Scorpions belting out from my computer playlist, I reflected on the chapters I read earlier that day and suddenly felt a strong resurgence to my goals. I realized that each of us have our own unique stamp of expression that makes us stand out from each other…

There should be no favourites or question about perfection or our “specialness”…we’re all absolutely and uniquely awesome inside and out and just for the record, there’s no such thing as perfect. And the genuine few who recognize this are true gems and should not be overlooked. Once we stay committed to growth, we’d be just on time to where we need to go in life, love, business or career.

It’s like picking a favourite parent. You will always feel closer to one, but they both have value in your life even if they are not fully present. Well, I am probably biased, but as I get older and with my Dad no longer with me, I realize the strength of the bond I share with my mother more and more each day. We don’t always see eye-to-eye, but her love and sacrifices endures and is far reaching. Her personality is infectious and I can’t picture life without her in it.

Today I am grateful for the genuine people who I am blessed to have as part of my life and the ones I continue to attract. My true blues! I love you!

Peace & Love

