ShutterstockTypewriter2In an effort to get back into the habit of writing regularly, I will be attending two workshops in the next few weeks.

1. Plot and structure, offered through the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) challenge.

2. An introduction to speculative fiction, hosted by NGC Bocas Lit Fest.

Fifty thousand words in one month is very scary to me. It took me three months to write the first draft of Selima and the Merfolk, and the entire project, thus far, has taken three years. I honestly won’t be mad at myself if I do not complete the challenge; what is important to me is that I stay consistent. Β I’ve never put much effort into planning what I intend to write because so far the initial idea has flowed smoothly for the most part. However, a thirty-day restriction has me reconsidering my no-strategy, strategy.

Today, I sat down to plan Corallian…

View original post 114 more words

